Although Russian is the official federal language, there are over 100 minority languages spoken in Russia today. Many of these languages are prominent in key regional areas and republics.

Language(s) Offered
Bashkir (Ufa), Buryat (Ulan-Ude), Tatar (Kazan),Yakut (Yakutsk)

Want to study Russian?

If you are interested in studying Russian in Russia, please see our Russian Language and Area Studies Program.


Please note that and all of its information will be moving to a new website. You can visit for up-to-date information about the program and many others.

The Eurasian Regional Language Program (ERLP) offers intensive, highly-individualized instruction in more than 15 Eurasian languages, including Armenian, Azeri, Dari, Farsi, Georgian, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Romanian, Ukrainian, and Uzbek. Through homestays, cultural activities, and conversation partners, participants enjoy an unprecedented opportunity to immerse themselves in daily local life while receiving ongoing support and guidance from American Councils expert, overseas staff.
Apply Now

Blogs From Abroad

Photo Galleries